Going beyond the Coopers cans...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoBored

Reaction score
Hello All,

I've done three beers from Coopers Kits and they are all enjoyable to me and a select few. Now I want to start to take off the training wheels.

My first two Coopers kits I followed the instructions, (a lager and a dark ale), friends and I enjoyed both. My current Coopers kit was a lager that I added 300 grams of honey to it. You can smell the honey, but barely taste it, however, It has only been in the bottles 11 days, (nice and bubbly though :mug:), and I've had two today.

My current project is a can of Coopers Stout and I want it to be really good. Being a noob, I found a relatively close online brew place and ordered some stuff.

So I have at my disposal;
1 can of Coopers Stout extract
1 lb of Briess Amber DME
1 lb of Golden Light DME
2 oz of Cascade hop pellets
1 oz of German Hallertau hop pellets
pleny of Quick Oats :D

I was planning on lightly boiling 1/2 lb of the Amber DME and about 800 grams, (1.7 lbs?), of dextrose, then going down to just below a boil and adding 1/2 once of Casade hop pellets for 20 minutes and then 5 minutes before the end adding the Coopers Stout kit. Put it in the bucket top up with water to the 23 liter point, and adding a yeast starter.

If anyone has any ideas on this, I'd very much appreciate it.

Thanks,

Tim

Is the coopers extract about 3 pounds? Also, have you tried calculating what you OG might be?

Otherwise, I haven't brewed any stouts yet, so I'm not entirely sure what style of stout those ingredients will make. What are you shooting for? I guess with the oats, an oatmeal stout?