flaked oats

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frosty24

Reaction score
Good day to all, I'm a newbie and of course have a problem. 3 days ago I brewed a summer blonde ale. I wanted to have a better head on my brew , so I mashed 1 pnd of flaked oats. After reading all the info available on line, i made a booboo! I mashed the oats alone. I told myself "oh well", and I carried on and added the rest of the ingredients anyway, which was 6 pnds od DME. I'm hoping that my beer will only be hazy. But in reality, what can or cannot happen?:mug:

To beer or not to beer, ha hell, give me three!

You'll end up with a beer that has the smooth taste of an oatmeal and a bit of haziness. Relax and enjoy it when it is done.

It won't be too bad, so don't worry.

keep in mind that oats make for this wonderful "creamy" mouthfeel, as oats are a bit oily and slick so they aren't the best choice for head retention or body. Next time, consider some flaked wheat or wheat malt (both need to be mashed), flaked barley in dark beers (since is creates a haze that is noticeable in lighter beers, or if you're not mashing, carapils which is a crystal malt that can be steep.

All of those are great for head and foam stability.

Good day to all, I'm a newbie and of course have a problem. 3 days ago I brewed a summer blonde ale. I wanted to have a better head on my brew , so I mashed 1 pnd of flaked oats. After reading all the info available on line, i made a booboo! I mashed the oats alone. I told myself "oh well", and I carried on and added the rest of the ingredients anyway, which was 6 pnds od DME. I'm hoping that my beer will only be hazy. But in reality, what can or cannot happen?:mug:

To beer or not to beer, ha hell, give me three!