Exploding and rupturing containers.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

A7X

Reaction score
I just started my first batch on October 9th, and my main problem is finding proper containers. I'm working on pretty low funding here, and had my beer in a milk jug. Such a newbie here that I didn't realize co2 would be a problem. I came home to find the milk jog expanded outwards, and leaking towards the top. I had lost 1/3rd of my beer. The rest I put in water bottles. Although two of the bottles were sealed tight, the other 3 weren't. What happened was one of the bottles started to expand like it was compressed inside. When I opened it the top blew off and half the beer foamed out. I spilled the rest because I wasn't sure about it's future drinkability.

So now I probably don't even have 70 ounces left, when I started with a gallon.

The question I have is how to deal with this. With the other bottles I open them and close them each day to let out air, but if you had the proper equipment would you use a valve to let out co2?

Also I don't see too much foaming I know it's only been a few days but I'm worried that all the spillage ruined the batch.

Here is the proper equipment you desire. It's a bucket with an air lock. The air lock lets CO2 escape and keeps oxygen out. You're extremely lucky you did this in plastic containers. Sealing up the vessel during primary fermentation is a sure way to make a bomb.

fermenter.jpg

If you're really on a tight budget, or just can't be bothered with airlocks, I've done quite a few batches where I just just used clingfilm/clear-wrap, with a couple of small pin-holes, over the top of my fermentation buckets. Lets the excess CO2 escape and keeps undesirables out.