My first receipe: Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gavilan

Reaction score
I'm a noob on homebrewing (6 batches cooked), specialy on formulating my own receipe. I was playing with hopville.com and came up with this receipe so I need some opinions and recomendations for it.

Name: Ea, Puñ...! Amber Ale
Batch size: 5 gallons
Boil size: 3 gallons for 60 minutes
TOG 1.057
TFG 1.015
ABV 5.6%
Bitternes 37.8 IBU

Malt: 7 pounds Amber LME
Specialty Grain: 12oz Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L
Specialty Grain: 4oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L

Specialty grain will be boiled for 30 minutes at around 150F

Hops
boil 60 mins 0.5oz Citra pellet
boil 40 mins 0.5oz Falconer's Seven Seas pellets
boil 30 mins 0.5 Citra pellets
boil 5 mins 0.5 Falconer's Seven Seas pellets
dry hop 7 days 1.0 Citra Pellets or leafs

Yeast
Safale US-05 Dry Yeast

Batch will be fermenting in primary for 14 days. Then it will be transfer to secondary for 2 more weeks. At the beggining of the secon week at secondary, 1 oz of citra will be added for dry hopping.

Batch will be bottled after 1 month of primary and secondary fermentation and leave to bottle conditioning for 2 more weeks (maybe less if I cant resist the urge :rockin:)

Well there it is, hope you find it exelent :ban:

As far as the malt, I wouldn't use amber malt extract. The reason is that it's amber because it's got crystal malt in it already, so you're doubling up on the crystal malt. You just don't really know what's in the extract, so it's hard to guess how much sweetness you're going to get out of it. I'd change the fermentables to this:

Malt: 7 pounds Light or extract light LME
Specialty Grain: 4oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L