Belgian Wit Recipe Ideas

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

captianoats

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a recipe, but I'm thick skinned, so if it's going to suck just let know. I need to know if I should toss in some rolled oats. If so, when??? I'll be brewing this (or an updated version) on saturday.

5 gallon batch

6 lbs dry wheat extract
1 oz Hallertau hops
1 oz bitter orange
1 oz coriander
Dry wheat yeast (whatever LHBS has in stock)

Boil 3.5 gallons water, because that's the largest pot I have.
1/2 oz hops at 60, rest at 30.
bitter orange and coriander at flameout.

yeast is really important to a wheat beer - go with a belgian strain like White Labs WLP400 Belgian Wit Ale Yeast. Also, you're recipe looks great - you might consider adding 4 ounces or so of sugar (Belgian candy sugar is traditional for these recipes) - it helps dry out and lighten the final beer.

Good luck and cheers!

oh and i wouldn't add any oats to this - witbiers are usually lighter in body, i think, and the oats would add a heavier body

Actually oats are pretty traditional for getting the correct body, but they have to be mashed. It looks about as good as an extract recipe can be, it won't be the same as one made with unmalted wheat but I bet it will be really nice. I agree that the yeast is pretty important to the style and you should probably go with 400 or 410, but if you must go dry T-58 would give you a Belgian character...sort of.

I'm hoping the LHBS will have some decent yeast. For a town of 14,000 people, he's got a pretty decent store, but he usually just keeps dry yeast in stock because he doesn't get a huge turnaround. Thanks for the help guys, I guess I'll leave out the oats until I can go all grain.