thinking about starting AG brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have been playing around with the coopers diy beer kits for about 7 months now and have made some good brews. However I have noticed that a lot of recipes talk about seeping, boiling and stuff like that. Im guessing the it is all to do with AG brewing so im just wondering how its done. Also keep in mind that I live in a small town with no LHBS.

Hi guys, I have been playing around with the coopers diy beer kits for about 7 months now and have made some good brews. However I have noticed that a lot of recipes talk about seeping, boiling and stuff like that. Im guessing the it is all to do with AG brewing so im just wondering how its done. Also keep in mind that I live in a small town with no LHBS.
are there any beer clubs in your area?

thats how I learned, I did the beer ***** thing for several guys while they taught me. I guess I scrubbed more brew equipment than I ever want to admit. but in the end I knew what was up, I also realized just how much stuff you need to buy. It is not cheap to just jump into it and as you are learning on some other guys system you can be planning your system and buying it part by part.

all grain is fun, and you learn a lot, you also learn a lot about the ingredients and chemistry. Along with that you learn how to control issues in your beer. but having said that, a lot of what you learn you realise you can do with extract brewing.

I brew both ways, after all if all I am doing is simple profile beers, why fire up the big system, just do a full wort boil and I can nail the styles good, but for more complicated stuff, all grain is how to go.

good luck