Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Seriously reconsidering going all grain

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2011, 03:07 AM   #1
acefaser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Seriously reconsidering going all grain

Ok, so I am new to brewing and did an 5 gal extract brew for my first brew and decided to go all grain for my second batch. Holy moly this was a lot of work. I hope the finished product turns out. I think if I continue with all grain I will be doing 10 gal batches (little more work, lots more beer)

Please talk me into continuing this all grain thing. I hate for this extra money I have put into the equipment to go to waist.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2011, 03:11 AM   #2
strat_thru_marshall
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Man, on my first all grain batch it took me 8 hours and i think I used every pot, pan, strainer, and spoon in my kitchen. It was a nightmare.

Many many batches later, I can knock it out in 4.5 hours from measuring grain to cleanup, and it's almost auto-pilot at this point (almost...).

It takes time and practice to get your process down. Don't be discouraged, it will only get easier from here. Spend some time reading up on all grain process and the science behind each step. Plan before each brew day, and take detailed notes during each brew session. You'll get it down, it just takes a little repetition.

Old 03-14-2011, 03:12 AM   #3
iparks81
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 10

With all grain you have many more options on types of grain and styles of beer you can brew. Some also say the beer is better when brewed from grain rather than Extract.
It's all up to how much your time is worth to you.

I love Alcohol, its in my Blood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post