New to brewing, Wheat beer photo journal. Tips welcome!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bad_Habits

Reaction score
High fellow brewers :)

I'm fairly new to brewing my own beer, and this is my first raw ingredient batch I will be doing. I received a Mr. Beer kit as a gift a while back and have been trying a couple batches using hopped malt extract, but really wanted to do the raw ingredients.

I'm working on a limited budget, but have found that beer ingredients and such are much cheaper than i expected. Which rocks. The recipe I am using for this Wheat Beer (Still un-named as of yet) is based off a couple other recipes i found online, and used as a basis to get the right ratios and such. I modified some parts to make this my own recipe and also asked for tips on what to use at the awesome brewing store i found somewhat locally.

This recipe uses 3 types of malt, and 2 kinds of hops. I used White wheat malt, 2 row malt, and a small amount of Munich malt as the majority of the raw ingredients. I also used Some US Magnum hops, along with some centennial hops. The yeast i used is a German Kolsh Ale yeast. I used a nylon bag for holding and steeping the grain in, at about 155 degrees for around 50-55 minutes, then boosted to 165 for the last 10 minutes to mash out and add hops. I am using a 6.5 gallon bucket with spigot and airlock for fermenting, then plan to bottle and carbonate.