Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > First AG batch recipe question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2011, 04:39 PM   #1
theRick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First AG batch recipe question

I've been brewing off and on for 22 years, almost exclusively partial mashes. I finally built a picnic cooler mash tun and am ready to try it out. For my first batch I was thinking of doing 10 lbs 2-row and no specialty grains to get a good idea of my system efficiency (5 gallon batch). It will make a drinkable beer, I'll get an idea of my efficiency (using LHBS milled grains) and I'd like to see the lightest color I can get using 2-row. The only con I can think of is it will be just a basic beer, (but still beer!). Yes, I'll use hops and good yeast.

After searching I couldn't find anyone else who did this, most were pretty ambitious in their recipe selection. I think I have enough experience and knowledge to reach close to maximum efficiency for my set up and grain crush the first time. Is it worth it to do a batch this way? Should I just brew a normal recipe and keep track of efficiencies as I brew more? Any comments will be appreciated.

Also I think this forum is extremely helpful, I've been lurking a long time and now ask for your help, thanks!.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 05:12 PM   #2
r_flagg
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Look up SMaSH recipes - Single Malt and Single Hop. Lots of people do this and make great beers.

Old 03-06-2011, 06:03 PM   #3
MikeinCT
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Along those same lines.