Attn expert dry hoppers: Please help with dry hopping grassiness

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluelakebrewing

Reaction score
Hey all. I have been brewing all grain for about three years, mostly IPA's, with excellent results. I dry hopped almost every ipa, pale, and anything else i felt I could get away with it, and it added an exceptional flavor and aroma to my beers. However, recently, every batch that I have dry hopped has had a pronounced grassy flavor to it. I can't seem to put a finger on what changed, other than switching from bottling to kegging, so I was hoping that someone could tell me if they see an issue in my process:

1. Rack fermented IPA from primary to secondary on top of hop pellets
2. I usually use between 1-2 oz, mostly citra, simcoe, amarillo or cascade
3. Dry hop 5-8 days at 60-65 degrees
4. Move to ferm chamber to cold crash @ 40 degree for 1-2 days
5. Rack to keg and carb @ 34 degrees at 10 psi for 2 weeks
6. Taste, drink, bottle, ext at 2.5 - 3 weeks

Is there any reason that my beers would suddenly taste more grassy? I have become gun shy to dry hop, and the last few batches that I didn't dry hop suffered from lack of aroma. I even used gelatin in the keg to try to strip some of the grassy flavors with no luck.

Granted, the grassyness fades after about 5-6 weeks, but at that point the beer really doesn't even taste like an ipa and is just a sliver of the beer that it was at 3 weeks.

The only thing that I have changed recently is to go from bottle crabbing to kegging and force carbing. Could that make a difference or am I doing something else wrong, or am I just being inpatient? Thanks for the help!

RDWHAHB