Bottle Fatigue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jenks829

Reaction score
Does anyone have any comments concerning the number of times a standard amber bottle can be reused before it becomes fatigued and weakens?

I ask because when I started brewing about a year ago, it was a mad dash to drink and collect as many pop off bottles as I could. I was able to get about 8 cases of them and have since stopped collecting. I would estimate that each bottle has been refilled about 3 or 4 times so far.

I'm kind of curious about that, too. I was reading this Wikipedia page on Beer Bottles:

The ISB longnecks have a uniform capacity, height, weight and diameter and can be reused on average 16 times.

Now, I'm sure that we handle our bottles a lot more gingerly than commercial bottling lines and I'm not sure what additional stresses they're accounting for.

I personally don't worry about tracking how many times a bottle has been used for homebrew.

Unless it's damaged in some way (crack or chip) it should be able to be reused an infinite number of times.

I have used mine over 10+ times. never had an issue. so I am with bja, as long as there is no "defects" you should be ok!

Thanks guys. And thanks for posting that quote EvilGnome. I read that same article on Wiki but must have breezed right past that sentence. It helps when another brain takes a look and see's something mine missed.

I absolutely have used the same bottles 16 times without problem.

What type of failure is expected after 16 uses? I don't trust that number. I'm going with infinity+1 until I know better..