Bubbles and Foam

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ErinRae

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been brewing a cherry cyser for a couple months now. The first month I had these crazy bubbles that would continuously grow and go up into the bung. Someone had mentioned that it could of been a little left over starizan (sp? cleaning stuff) that I didn't get out causing the bubbles. Now I'm starting to age in the carboy and still have foamy bubbles. They're not growing as high but
if I dont shake them back in they almost get a little hard. At this stage in mead I've never had issues with foam or bubbles.

Do you think a good degassing is in order? How can I make them go away? I guess my concern is that if I go away for a weekend and come back to crusty bubbles I'm not gonna want to shake them back in.

I think we need a bit mroe about you're recipe. It sounds like standard carboy fermentation action. Since its months past what primary would be, I'm wondering if you added the cherries recently. If so its just new fermentation krausen from the sugar in the cherries.

Maybe you can even get a picture to us.

Thanks for commenting....here are some details:

4 gallon recipe:
14.5 lbs of wildflower honey
1 - 96oz of Vinters Harvest Cherry
1-250 ml tart cherry juice concentrate
1tsp of tannin
1.5 tsp of nutrient
EC-1118
SG. 1.118
SNA
Step fed another 2.2 pds of honey - from my original notes the alcohol should
of stopped around 17.85%

After the main ferment was done I moved it into a 5 gallon and topped
off with apple juice. As soon as the cherries were ready in my area I racked onto
6lbs of cherries for about 2 weeks (they pushing up every day)

Now I've racked off the cherries and had to add a little water/honey mix to remove
head space. FG 1.008