Good deal? GFCI SPA Box

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grimster

Reaction score
I just got home with one of these:

DSCF7159.sized.jpg

On clearance for $34.99 at Home Depot.

Deal or no deal?

Got the stuff I need to convert my 10 gallon SS pot into a self contained kettle so I can cook in the basement or outside (my dryer plug is right by the window in the basement).

I suppose I could buy the rest at my Home Depot and throw them up on Flea Bay for $40 each starting bid and see what happens!

Im not an electrical expert, but i have never heard of connecticut electric except for seeing those spa panels.

Its just one man's opinion, but you usually get what you pay for. When it comes to something that is going to save my life, i prefer to pay for something that i know is quality.

I myself got a Square D QO spa panel. Square D QO is supposedly the best in breakers money can buy. Again, this is just my opinion based on what i have read, and talking to the EE engineers i work with.

When i have to make decisions like this i ask myself, If i die, will my GF wish that i spent an extra 50 dollars on a Square D box..... the answer was yes for me.

Again, just my opinion, but i debated getting that box, so i figured i'd chime in.

cant go wrong with Square D, everything they make is good. of course GE and Murry make good boxes as well. dont know anything about that one, but if its decent quality you got a good price.

Also, a 60 amp panel will require 4 gauge wire, which they do not sell at my HD or Lowes. you could always put the spa panel behind a 50 amp breaker in your box. 50 breaker handles overcurrent, spa panel handles ground faults