Campden Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjg444

Reaction score
I'm new to this, and have searched but found no answer.
Apparently I'm the only one asking, so it's probably an easy question, but here goes:
We throw a Campden tablet/gallon in primary to kill off wild yeast. We wait 24 hours before pitching so it doesn't kill the 'good' yeast. Got it.
Then we throw one in per gallon when racking to secondary (or at least most sources say to). But wouldn't that kill off the remaining yeast that are needed now that the anaerobic has started?
Thank you.

Like your thought process! Hope someone more qualified can chime in.
I would tell you this ( and someone can correct my thinking as well )
when you add one when racking to secondary it will do two things, help remove free oxygen and kill the yeast. Killing the yeast could make the wine more sweet because you might have left over sugar vs back sweetening. Tis might be what the recipe calls for.
Again really trying to learn with you so lets wait for others to post!

Good topic Cig

I thought campden was to sterilize the initial must and then to add a kind of preservative. I'm new too, but it doesn't seem like it would kill the wine strains. I've been using it for the last few gallon batches I've made.

Campden doesn't kill yeast, especially not wine yeast which is amazingly tolerant of sulfites.

Sulfites (campden) is added when mixing up the must to kill bacteria and other microbes that may be in the must before the chosen wine yeast strain is added.

Sulfites (campden) are generally added at intervals to the wine as it dissipates, and it works as an antioxidant since it binds to wine so oxygen can't.