Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Auber Sous Vide Controller
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2010, 08:13 PM   #1
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Default Auber Sous Vide Controller

I have this: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...badd2ad1edf706

I was thinking about building a smaller, electric, more automated brewery for when I am feeling lazy, or for brewing 2 beers at the same time, so long as I can do it for cheap.

Which brings me to my question, what is the maximum wattage I could control with this controller? 1500w? Can I even use it?

DKershner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 10:17 PM   #2
JayInJersey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 600
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Looks like it has a standard 110 plug built into it...so I'd assume 1500w would work.

But then again...I'm no electrician.

__________________
Hazard Brewing
JayInJersey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
trigger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: portland
Posts: 628
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

It says in the specs that it's rated to 15A. That translates to 1650W at 110V. The only issue there is that with a 1500W element you will be near the limit of that circuit's breaker if it's on a 15A circuit and you may run into problems with nuisance trips. Otherwise you could use it to control a heatstick pretty easily.

__________________
trigger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 11:56 PM   #4
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trigger View Post
It says in the specs that it's rated to 15A. That translates to 1650W at 110V. The only issue there is that with a 1500W element you will be near the limit of that circuit's breaker if it's on a 15A circuit and you may run into problems with nuisance trips. Otherwise you could use it to control a heatstick pretty easily.
Well, I am pretty sure the circuit breaker the outlet I would be using is a 20A (in the garage, new house).

I would be mildly concerned about the breaker/relay/whatever inside the auber box though...should I not be?

If I should be, I wonder if it is replaceable with a higher amp unit...
DKershner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2010, 12:09 AM   #5
trigger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: portland
Posts: 628
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I don't know about replacing it, I'm sure you could email Auber and see what they say. As far as worrying about it, if you run a 1500W 110V element through it I imagine it'll shorten it's life, but then again it's rated for 15A, so it should function fine.

__________________
trigger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2010, 12:12 AM   #6
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trigger View Post
I don't know about replacing it, I'm sure you could email Auber and see what they say. As far as worrying about it, if you run a 1500W 110V element through it I imagine it'll shorten it's life, but then again it's rated for 15A, so it should function fine.
Thanks for the help!
__________________
DKershner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2010, 12:58 PM   #7
SankePankey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 904
Liked 16 Times on 10 Posts

Default

Why not just get an induction element from Vallrath or Cooktek. That's basically what those things are minus the element.

The highest wattage you can get without jumping to 220V is 1800W. After that they go up to 3500W. Your kettles may take to induction. Some do.

__________________
SankePankey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2010, 04:15 PM   #8
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SankePankey View Post
Why not just get an induction element from Vallrath or Cooktek. That's basically what those things are minus the element.

The highest wattage you can get without jumping to 220V is 1800W. After that they go up to 3500W. Your kettles may take to induction. Some do.
Interested in your idea, I walked around with a magnet this morning. The pot I was thinking of using, a 7.5gal aluminum Bayou classic, was not magnetic. My 15.5gal Stainless bayou's were though.

I can only find $500ish induction elements, are these the ones you were talking about?
__________________
DKershner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2010, 12:09 AM   #9
SankePankey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 904
Liked 16 Times on 10 Posts

Default

Yeah they are pricey unless you can find the right deal on CL.

Check this thread:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/anyo...ml#post2002759

__________________
SankePankey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2010, 12:25 AM   #10
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SankePankey View Post
Yeah they are pricey unless you can find the right deal on CL.

Check this thread:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/anyo...ml#post2002759
Yeah, I saw the thread before, and remember wanting it for my kitchen. Unfortunately my all-clad stuff was not magnetic.

It would have to be a pretty screaming deal in order to beat out a $20 heating element and a step bit.
__________________
DKershner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about fuses for element controller Bugaboo Electric Brewing 17 12-07-2010 06:30 PM
Fermentation Temperature Controller Sanity Check bacampbe Electric Brewing 5 10-16-2010 03:52 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS