Yeast Options : Opinions Needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gregc1973

Reaction score
I have a partial mash kit for a wheat stout from Austin HomeBrew.

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/Beer/Stouts/AHS-Wheat-Stout-13E.html#.VM0jbP54qAw

I sat on it for too long and now the liquid yeast that I had (White Labs WLP013) is past the BB date and I don't think the the starter took. I went to my LBS and all the yeast they had was the dry yeast Munich Danstar wheat beer yeast. I'm very new at brewing, but from what I can tell I have 3 options:

1. Try and pitch the starter that from the liquid yeast that I have, if it doesn't take, try the dry yeast.
2. Pitch both the liquid and dry yeast at the same time
3. Drive a really long distance in the next few minutes to the next available LHBS to get the right yeast
4. Pitch just the dry yeast.

Any experts have an opinion on the right approach? Appreciate the advice.

I have a partial mash kit for a wheat stout from Austin HomeBrew.

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/Beer/Stouts/AHS-Wheat-Stout-13E.html#.VM0jbP54qAw

I sat on it for too long and now the liquid yeast that I had (White Labs WLP013) is past the BB date and I don't think the the starter took. I went to my LBS and all the yeast they had was the dry yeast Munich Danstar wheat beer yeast. I'm very new at brewing, but from what I can tell I have 3 options:

1. Try and pitch the starter that from the liquid yeast that I have, if it doesn't take, try the dry yeast.
2. Pitch both the liquid and dry yeast at the same time
3. Drive a really long distance in the next few minutes to the next available LHBS to get the right yeast
4. Pitch just the dry yeast.

Any experts have an opinion on the right approach? Appreciate the advice.