Nottingham yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canadianbrewer2012

Reaction score
I recently started brewing and the local beer supply store sold me a kit which claims to be a lager which he says is a Mach of Kokanee gold ( the owner of the store creates the kits) ....Well the kit includes Nottingham ale yeast.. As far as I know there is only one thing that separates a lager from an ale... Yeast! And this an ale yeast how could it be a lager? I called him to ask and his reply was that it was such a "neutral yeast" that it was a lager brew... However it only called for 2 week fermentation... is there any truth to what my supplier is claiming?

nottingham will not a lager make so who knows what your supplier is talking about.

Well, about as true as a campaign promise! Ale and lager yeast aren't even the same species - Saccharomyces cerevisiae and Saccharomyces uvarum (or pastorianius), respectively. Nottingham is a fairly neutral ale yeast, but very much an ale. I think of US-05/Wyeast 1056/White Labs WL001 (very similar, if not the same strain) as more neutral. BierMuncher used US-04 for his well-respected Octoberfast ale, which came across as quite close to a lager in character. I suspect you'd get even closer to a lager character with a Kolsch yeast. However, to really use a lager yeast properly, you have to have the capability to lager, i.e. store at rather cold temperature. Generally, that's a fridge with an external temperature controller, and then several weeks or months to commit their use to it. I have the fridge and all, but I'd rather have an ale and keep my pipeline moving than tie them up that long.