Home Alone Yeast Starter, Work?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vp1

Reaction score
Hey guys, first post. I have been brewing now for about 6 months and with all the good info on here and the search function I have never needed to actually post haha.

So on short notice I am planning on brewing a Tripel (extract) on Sunday afternoon. I normally brew during the week due to weekend travel but with my first full 5 gal boil and banjo burner I wanted some daylight. The issue is the yeast starter.

I will be making my first one for this batch using Wy Belgian Abbey but am traveling to DC this weekend until my Sunday afternoon return.

I can pitch it before I leave at 3-4 this afternoon after work but will have no way to agitate since the stir plate is still under construction.

I was planning on just under a liter (should I use two containers so it a total volume of just under 2 liters?) and will I get the results I need for a healthy fermentation without swirling? They will be sitting out in an ambient temperature around 63. I am planning on adding the Belgian candy during fermentation to help out the yeast (lower starting OG).

Any suggestions are appreciated
Thanks!

I was planning on just under a liter (should I use two containers so it a total volume of just under 2 liters?)
Thanks!

Mrmalty.com

you don’t necessarily need to make a starter with that strain in a gal batch, but if you do it won’t hurt it to leave it in the flask without agitation, it is just not ideal

Mrmalty.com

you don’t necessarily need to make a starter with that strain in a gal batch, but if you do it won’t hurt it to leave it in the flask without agitation, it is just not ideal