What Beer to Buy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mezak1gd

Reaction score
I am a poor college kid. Because of this I usually buy beer on a budget. I am still new to Homebrewing (1.5 years) and have had some good beer, but there is still a ton of beer and many styles I have not tried. With that said I just got christmas money and have about $30-$40 to spend and need suggestions on what to get. I really want to get at least 1 Quad, 1 RIS, 1 IIPA. I'd rather not spend $10 a bottle because that means I get less, but if there's 1 thats worth it let me know. Thanks.

Well for the IPA I would get a Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye or a Racer 5.

I don't know what sorts of bars you have over there, but it might be worth it to find one with a good bit on tap and sample away. Perhaps you and some friends could go on a few brewery tours. Granted bells is across the state, but their expedition stout is great

Edit: Oh boo, they dont offer tours, thats bogus...

+1 on the hop rod. great beer and not super expensive. the red hook barleywine is pretty good and cheap. anything from Lagunitas is good quality and not sover the top on price. on the IPA, i would splurte on a Nectar IPA. it is insanely good.

Yah I love Bell's too I drink a lot of it. I wish they had tours I would've been there by now. Haven't had the expedition stout though. Is the Red Hook Barleywine available in Michigan? Never seen it but would like to pick it up.

BTW has anyone had this He'brew beer? Just saw it in the store and wasn't sure about it. I think it was $5.39 22oz. They have a Rye IPA 10%abv and a half dobblebock half belgian dubbel that looked pretty good.