Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Semi-newbie in need of REAL help!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2012, 05:23 AM   #1
ASpeedyGTO
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Semi-newbie in need of REAL help!!

Hello and thank you for reading my post. I am in my second year of home brewing, and to date have made about 15 batches. The first 4 or 5 turned out great, however the last 10 have produced a consistent, persistent problem that I have not been able to solve.

Long story short, everything is fine until I keg and carbonate. About 1 week after kegging and carbonating, the beer takes on a grapefruit flavor that gets worse and worse each day. By week 2, it tastes like strong grapefruit juice and all original aspects of the beer have vanished. The body, maltiness, and original hop bitterness goes away and I'm left with a very disappointing batch. Also, after a few days of being under CO2 and cold temperatures, the color goes away and turns completely tan.....very similar to muddy water. I am confident that this is not chill haze.

This problem does not discriminate on style.......doesn't matter if it is an IPA, pale ale, amber, etc.......doesn't matter. For example, the most recent batch was a Stone's IPA clone. I kept a sample out when I kegged it, and it looked, smelled, and tasted just about spot on (as much as a clone recipe could!). 1-2 weeks later, I have muddy looking grapefruit juice. It definitely can be consumed......it just tastes like the last 10 batches.

Please help! I am at a loss and running out of ideas. My latest thoughts are that I may be letting too much agitation (aeration) happen while transferring go the keg, but have not brewed again to test this theory.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2012, 09:21 AM   #2
DannyD
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts