New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Decent corded thermometer??? (and a rant to start)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 04:36 PM   #11
broadbill
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 255 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Quote:
Originally Posted by max384 View Post

When I mash, I open it up and give it a stir every 10 minutes or so. I find that after stirring, the temp will vary a bit, maybe a degree or two, but nothing that ever got me worried. I'm still a total noob at brewing, particularly AG, so should I be stirring the mash, or should I just leave it alone during the mash?

I say leave it be. I don't think stirring accomplishes anything, provided you stirred it really well at the beginning. What I do is pre-heat, dump my pre-heat, add about 80% of my mash water at 3-4 degrees above my calculated strike temp, dump my grain, stir like hell and close it up. After 10 minutes, I open up and stir again, check the temp, then adjust with hot/cold water to my desired strike. Then I close it up and forget about it for 45m-1 hour. No stir after doughing-in really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by max384 View Post
Wow, that thermometer looks really nice... Definitely over my quite modest student budget right now though. The thermapen is more than I really want to spend right now in fact.
You can def. get away cheaper thermometer, main difference is how long you have to wait for a solid reading. My taylor takes 20-30 seconds to stabilize, thermapen takes 2-3 seconds. I decided I don't really need a reading that quickly...since I only take about 5-10 readings during my process anyway (I have a temp gauge on my BK that I can read my strike and sparge temps on).

Old 01-04-2013, 04:40 PM   #12
PuckX
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1