Beer Style Freshness - Which beers last longest?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the75

Reaction score
As I look ahead & begin to plan for upcoming competitions, I began to consider brewing some beers as early as possible. I'm relatively new to brewing & haven't strayed far from ales, so I wanted to see if anyone could shed some light on which styles of beer I could brew, keg, bottle, & cold store for a few months without really losing much flavor. I do know weizens need to be fresh & hoppy beers will lose their aroma & flavor quickly, so they would need to be brewed as close to the competition as possible.

Does anyone know of a list anywhere that might address this? Basically, which beers hold best once bottled?

The key to brews lasting several months to a year or more has less to do with the style and more to do with technique. That said I find darker and stronger beers get really good at the six month mark. Nine months if it is something like a RIS or a Baltic porter.

The key to brews lasting several months to a year or more has less to do with the style and more to do with technique.
I don't understand. Are you implying that good technique could help keep a three month old IPA's flavor competitive against a freshly brewed one's? I seriously thought that the style of a beer was the most important aspect as to whether or not it's flavor would hold well once bottled & stored.

I don't understand. Are you implying that good technique could help keep a three month old IPA's flavor competitive against a freshly brewed one's? I seriously thought that the style of a beer was the most important aspect as to whether or not it's flavor would hold well once bottled & stored.