Aeration whip or wand

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThomasO5608

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing but I just completed an all electric Kal clone brewery for my basement and have brewed a couple of batches so far and everything has been going well. I have been researching aeration and see that people are using stones and O2. I purchased a wand that said it was for wine or beer. It is a plastic tube and has what looks like weed whacker line on it. The directions said to aerate the wort for 3 min. I did this in a batch last night and it created a head on the wort about 5" thick and had the consistency of soft serve ice cream. I tried to mix it back in the solution but it did not work. I went ahead and pitched the yeast and looked at it this morning and it looks like a normal fermentation going on.(the thick foam dissipated) I am wondering if I altered the beer by whipping it so much. I guess only time will tell but has anyone else encountered this?

Thanks,

Tom