plasticphobia

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What do you think?

• Glass only, plastic is evil.

• I replace my plastics frequently.

• I've replaced my plastics a time or two.

• This stuff will be fine long after I'm dead.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Soybomb

Reaction score
One of the things I've continually read since I started brewing is how plastic gets to be unsafe over time. Buckets need to be replaced, hoses get replaced even more frequently. Before the carboy crisis you'd have thought the better bottle was pure evil, now it seems like most people love them.

So where do you stand? How often do you replace your hose and buckets? Do you go overboard and replace other plastic stuff like the autosiphon? My autosiphon broke years ago at the bend in the inner tube. I jammed a hose on it, clean it well, and dare not remove it. So far no evidence of trouble. One of my buckets is the bucket I got with my starter kit, I can't even guess how many gallons of beer have been through it.

NEVER Replaced one bucket or hose.. been going for 2 years. We'll see how it goes in another 2-3.

From my personal research, I don't really care, its just what I've picked up from unrelated reading. Clear plastic is made by using some synthetic estrogen that is possibly linked to bad things in early human production. I think canada has maybe banned clear plastic baby bottles?

Anyway, Its supposed to be detrimental to young male baby's and also if the parents are near a plant that makes the chemical they're pretty much a cert to have a girl. That was from some CBC documentary I saw a while back.

I have 1 glass fermenter and a couple plastic and I plan the longer fermentations to be in the glass.