How long to use stirplate?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aekdbbop

Reaction score
Ok, used my stirplate last night for the first successful time w/o throwing the magnet...

do you guys let it spin until you are ready to brew? or X amount of hour intervals?

I woke up this morning with some of the stuff dripping out the top, so I turned it off.. was just trying to figure out what to do here.

yeah it is kreusening..

do you think it will be good until tonight.. I turned off the stirplate so it doesnt overflow....

sorry I am still new to the idea of starters...

It takes me 3-5 days to make a starter becasue I step it up to grow alot of yeast.
I make a 1000ml for a day or 2 on the stir plate, I let it sit so the yeast will fall out then decant. I now pour this into a 2000ml stater and let it grow a few days and then into the fridge to crash the yeast. On brew day I take it out to warm up to room temp and then decant again and back on the stir plate for a few hours until ready to pitch. Been working so far for me.

I listened to an interview with David Logsdon from Wyeast, and he said something interesting. A starter can actually do more harm than good if you let it go too long.