Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Closed-system pressurized fermentation technique!
View Poll Results: What do you guys think about pressure fermentations? Time for a poll.
I've done it and I liked it just fine! 82 11.25%
I've done it, nothing wrong with it, but prefer normal fermentation techniques. 20 2.74%
I've done it, hate it, and never will do it again! 4 0.55%
I've never done it, but it is on my list! 544 74.62%
I've never done anything. I only brew beer in my mind. 79 10.84%
Voters: 729. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 11:00 AM   #1601
onederbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Onederbrew system

I have been fermenting under pressure for over 5 years developing the OneDerBrew system. I use a pressure relief valve and have tried fermenting at 5,10,15,20,25,30, psi I have done ales and lagers, extract and all grain. Fermentation stops at about 30 to 32 psi but will resume if the pressure is dropped. The best results are when the pressure is kept between 10 and 18 psi.
I now aerate the wort using agitation and a drop of olive oil (a toothpick dipped in olive oil for 5 gallons). I have made over 900 batches using this method and have done many split batches to compare results,(pressure verses no pressure)(aeration techniques).
If pressure is maintained from the beginning of fermentation when the yeast are multiplying, (off flavors) fusal alcohols and Esters are drastically reduced. I spoke with Chris White from White labs at the homebrew conference in Seattle.
He endorsed this technique but said that it may reduce Esters in some of the Belgium style beers that want to retain some of the fruity ester y notes.
I agree somewhat but i still can get the result i am looking for with proper yeast selection.
By the way the folks at White labs are extremely helpful and easy to talk to.