Want to make smaller size batch!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

piersonm

Reaction score
I am a poor college student who doesn't have a lot of money for ingredients. I got a 5 gallon kit and it works great. Instead of making 5 gallon batches each time, i was wondering if there is any special things that i need to think about doing before doing it. Like would i use the same about of ingredients for 1 or 2 gallon batch as i would for a 5 gallon batch our would i need to use the ingredients proportionally. Would i also need to use a smaller fermenter?

Yes, you'll scale the recipe down. Divide by 5 for a 1 gal batch (assuming you're using extracts).

Smaller fermenter would be best, but your bucket will still work.

The reason most people use 5 gallons is that it's a good compromise between work and results - i.e. it takes about the same effort to make a 1 gal batch as a 5 gal.

Also, I brew all-grain and my last batch (a standard bitter) cost me $11.47 for a 5 gal. batch. 7 lbs grain, 1oz high alpha hops, dry yeast. It's very doable if you put your mind to it. Play around here http://www.brewmasterswarehouse.com/brew-builder (my local store); change batch size to 1 gal if you like.

Maybe get some friends involved and split the cost of a 5-gal batch? In my college days I'd have to really look hard for someone who didn't drink.

Doing smaller batches may actually be more expensive in the long run unless you are harvesting yeast. You will need to buy yeast every time you make beer. Probably tacks on $8-9 for dry yeast and much much more for liquid yeast.