Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Switching to Star San

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
Grinnan5150
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Switching to Star San

Based on all the recommendations I have received, I am thinking of making the switch from 1 Step to Star San. I saw some videos of it's usage online. It looks like it is quite foamy. I realize it is no rinse but from what I can see people are racking beer right into the foam. Couldn't this be harmful to the beer or the people drinking the beer?

If I santize my corny keg with it, it's OK to rack the beer into with all the foam or should I rinse out the foam prior to putting beer into it?

I've heard rave reviews of Star San but I've been using 1 Step for 10 years so I'm apprehensive to make the switch.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 02:43 PM   #2
Grinnan5150
Recipes 

Default 2nd part to question

I also forgot to ask....I have also read that having hard water can affect the Star San's effectiveness. Without have testing equipment available, I can tell you we have a water softener. Would that be enough to make it effective?

Old 04-27-2012, 02:47 PM   #3
voltin
Beholden to the Yeast
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

There is a saying associated with Star San: "Don't fear the foam!"

The StarSan will be so diluted by the beer that you wont taste it, and it will not be harmful to humans. You also don't need to worry about it when racking your wort to a carboy or bucket. Starsan purportedly breaks down into yeast nutrient. Do not rinse a container after it has been sanitized with StarSan, or all your work will be for naught.

On Deck: Motor Oil Barleywine, Cider Trials, Vanilla Cream Ale, California Blonde