Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Batch VS Fly What is The Big Diff.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2007, 06:24 PM   #1
slnies
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Batch VS Fly What is The Big Diff.

So her it is. My next batch I will Batch Sparge. However I have never tried it before now. So I did some research on the forum here, and I came up with some pros and cons. They are:
Batch: 1. Faster
2. easier to attain eff.
3. More fiddling with adding batches of water.
4. requires HLT.

Fly: 1. Easy one step process
2. requires HLT
3. Takes longer.
4. more difficult to zero in.
So, does this sound right so far?
Now that is out of the way What am I missing and what are the supporting arguments either way? Thank you all for your time and considerate thoughts.

S.

Primary: American Wheat
Secondary: Phils Pils Clone

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2007, 06:34 PM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 603 Times on 373 Posts
Likes Given: 54

I have to disagree with one statement each:

Batch: 2. easier to attain eff.
Perhaps it's easier to achieve a consistent efficiency if you batch sparge, but sparge method alone does not impact efficiency as much as other factors such as mash thickness, pH, temperature, and grain crush.

No way. It's really easy to screw up a fly sparge - channeling, run-off rate, grain bed condition, sparge water introduction method, and some others I'm sure I'm forgetting can present some pretty big hurdles to overcome.

Old 12-24-2007, 06:53 PM   #3
slnies

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri_Rage
I have to disagree with one statement each:

Batch: 2. easier to attain eff.