yeast in bottom of bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rookiecd

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to all this, so please bare with me.
I'm told that once the brew is bottled that when you pour the beer you should do it carefully and leave about 1/2 inch in the bottle so you don't get the yeast from the bottom of the bottle (unless of course you like the yeast!). Anyway, how would one go about getting rid of this yeast? Yeast is needed at bottling time for the carbonation, correct? How do the big micro brewers do it, they must have some way of getting rid of that yeast?

http://www.videojug.com/webvideo/how-to-pour-the-perfect-pint-of-homebrew

You "Pour to the shoulder" of the bottle. The other things you asked about is called force carbing. This is done with kegs and a CO2 tank normally but can also be done with the TAD system or a hacked Miller/Coors home draft system, the later uses CO2 carts and can be expensive. Some craft beers are bottle conditioned, like Serria Nevada. Macroes also filter their beer removing all the vitamins, minerals and yeast.

The big guys filter and force carbonate rather than let the yeast carbonate. There are things you can do to get less than 1/2" of yeast at the bottom, e.g., se finings (Irish Moss, gelatin), cold crash, just wait longer before bottling.

If you really want naturally carbonated beer, and really want as small amount of sediment as possible, you can always filter, then add a tiny amount of yeast when bottling. It doesn't take much yest to do the job, and you will have minimal sediment in the bottles. *

*Not from personal experience. I've only read about people doing this. If you have the ability to filter, you probably have the ability to keg/force-carbonate anyway.