Yeast Cake Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bonneville

Reaction score
Hey all! I've been home-brewing for a few years now, but have a renewed interest recently. Browsing the forums, I've learned a lot... like White Labs/Wyeast should really be used for starters rather than direct pitch, which is what I have been doing forever.

As I was reading about yeast, starters, etc., I hit a few threads on yeast cakes. I decided I want to give this a try. So, here's the plan: I have an IPA using Wyeast 1272 in the primary that's ready for a secondary. I was planning my next beer to be an English Pale Ale, and was thinking this yeast could work (probably a bit fruity, but I always seem to brew "hybrids" for one reason or another). The recipe OG for the IPA was 1.067 and I measured a 1.064, so I don't think I need to worry about too much alcohol for the yeast. (Expected FG is 1.016, but I won't measure that until racking to the secondary).

Having never done this before, I have some questions:

1) It sounds as though people have poured wort right onto the yeast cake. Does this mean just rack out old beer, add new wort, and aerate? Do we need to clean out kreusen ring and attempt to re-sanitize without disturbing yeast cake?
2) The trub at the bottom will include not just yeast, but also some settled grain & hop residue. (I filtered wort when adding to primary, but some always gets through.) Will this have much of an effect on taste? The IPA was heavy on Amarillo and the EPA will be Kent Goldings.
3) Any other words of wisdom? I recently did my first primary in a carboy with some surprises, so I figured I would "ask first" this time. The primary in this case is a bucket.

Thx.