Wyeast 3724 Advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

secret_pint

Reaction score
Wyeast 3724 advice

Hi, would appreciate some experienced input here if possible as this is my first time using a Saison yeast. I see threads about this everywhere but I guess every case is somewhat specific so re-posting.

We had been reading loads about 3724 being notoriously sticky in mid fermentation and from some reading I had done, it appeared to need an elevated temperature level for fermentation to succeed.

I had read a blog post from a brewer who said he had had great success from pitching at 86F and keeping it there.

Our temperature control is ok, it consists of one of those submersible aquarium style immersion heaters - but I tested it on a volume of water last week and it held decently at 84-87F when set right.

I pitched last night at 86F at about 7pm, my gravity was 1.08. The fermentation room is about 72F.

I have a temperature probe in the fermenter that records the temperature every minute and posts to a graph online so I can monitor.

So I woke up this morning at 6am and noticed that the wort temperature had held at around 86F until 2am and then in about 20 mins, it shot up to 105F in the space of 20 mins.

I checked the fementer at 7am and the heater was not pressing against the probe or anything so the liquid actually was this temperature.