Wort Transfer Help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alee

Reaction score
I have been plagued with the same problem since I started brewing several years ago. Getting the wort to the carboy without plugging things up. I have been using a homemade Stainless braid screen (about 3 feet long) attached in a circular fashion to a copper dip tube on my kettle. I am brewing 10 gal batches, all grain and using hop pellets in hop bags. I pump from the kettle valve and chill with a counterflow chiller. The problem is that the hop bags don't hold all the fines of the hop pellets in during the boil and these fines and other trub clog my braid and slow the pump. I have to continually rub the braid with my plastic paddle to keep the flow.

There has to be a solution to this as I'm sure others have had this problem.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

I have always hated pellet hops for that reason. I use leaf hops so I can strain them out easily (I have a false bottom on the kettle) A stainless steel scrubby on the end of your dip tube works just as well when dealing with whole hops though.

People that use pellet hops will generally whirlpool (stir the wort and leave for 10-15 minutes and the hop trub all settles in a cone in the middle) or they'll just put the hops in with the rest of the wort and let it settle out in the fermenter. Some other filters have been created and can work, but take a lot of surface area.