Wort Chiller Method Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ErikAtTheW

Reaction score
I am a novice extract brewer, probably done about 10 batches or so...

I have a immersion chiller made from 50' of 1/4" copper tubing. It works great, but I'm wondering if there is a better way to use it...

I hook it to the faucet and adjust the flow of water so that the water coming out is as hot as possible. Sometimes this means turning the flow down to a trickle.

I recently saw a YouTube video where they stated that you should flow water as quickly as possible.

The immersion chiller is a heat exchanger, you send in cold water and the heat from the wort "exchanges" and out comes hot water.

Any thoughts on this? Like I said, I usually start it at a good flow rate, but then throttle it back as I go.

Thanks!

-Erik

I have a second IC that I put into a bucket of ice water and run that to the chiller in the pot. I can go from boil to pitch in 14 mins, I timed it ha... I just hook mine to a garden hose as I'm outside on full blast. I collect the hot water in my tun to use to wash with in the end and the rest goes into a bucket or 2 and I pour that into the garden.

First, you do not want to rush cold water through the IC. You want to let it flow but it doesn't have to trickle. I just open my tap about 1/2 way, give or take and let it flow. It's not a lot of pressure and it does fine.

In the summer ground water is warmer so many will use a pre-chiller or they'll get an aquarium pump and put that in a big bin of ice water so the ice water i what is being pumped out. It is like chilling in the winter. For me, winter chilling is about 25 minutes with 10 gallons of wort.