What size freezer/chiller do you have?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

formula2fast

Reaction score
So tonight while drinking one of my more recent brews, I finally pulled my head out of my a$$ and figured out why the 3 brews I have done recently didn't come out right.

I ferment in my basement. I started brewing last winter and all my beers were great. My basement in the winter is 65*. In the summer it is 76*. I need to get a freezer with a temp controller on it so I can ferment at the right temp all the time and have consistent results.

What size freezer are you guys using? I have (2) 6.5gal carboys and (3) 5 gallon carboys. I would like to be able to fit at least 2 of each if not all 5 of them in there.

Also, do run a blow off tube outside of the freezer, or leave it in there with a bowl of santizer?

formula2fast said:
So tonight while drinking one of my more recent brews, I finally pulled my head out of my a$$ and figured out why the 3 brews I have done recently didn't come out right.

I ferment in my basement. I started brewing last winter and all my beers were great. My basement in the winter is 65*. In the summer it is 76*. I need to get a freezer with a temp controller on it so I can ferment at the right temp all the time and have consistent results.

What size freezer are you guys using? I have (2) 6.5gal carboys and (3) 5 gallon carboys. I would like to be able to fit at least 2 of each if not all 5 of them in there.

Also, do run a blow off tube outside of the freezer, or leave it in there with a bowl of santizer?