What I Have Learned on HomebrewTalk

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Finally, a series that I don't have to be a professional homebrewer to write about! I enjoy reading, and learning. When I find something I'm highly interested in, I have no problem diving head-first into the deep end. I also get a deep sense of satisfaction out of taking what I've learned and putting it to use, and beyond that, I love bringing others along for the ride with me. Of course, this was no different when it came to homebrewing. I started brewing in July of 2014, after brewing with my step-father-in-law, who's been homebrewing for over 30 years. I came across HomeBrewTalk a few times in some online searches, and eventually became a member in November. Since then, I haven't stopped learning, and I doubt that HomeBrewTalk will really ever cease to be a huge source for brewing education. Here are the top 5 things I've learned on HomeBrewTalk:
1) Don't hesitate to ask!
img-1-2574.jpg

An example of the "Help!" threads found on here.
You can ask practically anything on here and expect to get a legitimate answer. There are people from all kinds of professional fields who are members here, and are always ready and willing to offer up free advice. If a mod or other long-time member can't answer your question, they will often refer you to someone who can.
Every now and then some bad advice might be given, but those are usually fairly quickly shown the error of their ways. Because most people on here are dedicated to brewing great beer, and to sharing in that enjoyment with others, there is a good amount of self-policing.