watery during fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dennis_W

Reaction score
Hey guys Im new to brewing. I started my first batch a few days ago. It was the coopers lager extract kit. I followed all the directions and hope everything is going good. Its been in the fermentor for about 52 hours.... i took a reading and took a sip and it tastes very watery. Is this normal? Hell should i even be drinking it? Fermentation seems to be going well with lots of foam. Thanks guys!

Welcome to the game! It can be frustrating once in a while, but it rocks to drink your own beer :)

As to your question, I'd say once it's in the fermenter there's generally not much to do but RDWHAHB!

Edit: I realized I missed something... No problem with drinking samples. Nothing in beer can hurt you and pretty much everyone does it.

"All your home brew are belong to us!"

It tastes watery because it's not carbed....it's still in the fermenter.

Until a beer is actually carbed up you really don't know how much body it really has. Co2 adds that feeling of fullness to the beer. Think about soda in a fountain dispenser, like at your favorite fast food joint. You ever pull some that wasn't carbed? It was thin and watery, not because the mix of liquids was off, but because the gas was not saturating the liquid.

Thanks for the info guys. Ive been thunking about brewing for awhile now and have done tons of research on this site. I already cant wait to start another batch! And driink this one!!!

Ok, I have another question my sample readings have been stuck around 1015 for over 24 hours now. The OG was 1036 and I thought I wanted to get it down around 1008. Is there anything I should do to get it back going or am I being to impatient?

I'm going to move this to its own thread...