Water Hardness?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

McLovinBeast57

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm making the switch to All-grain for my next batch and I'm trying to calculate the pH of my tap water.

The website says the water treatment facility produces a final drinking water at a hardness of "5 to 7 grains"... I'm very new to this, so 5-7 grains means nothing to me at the moment.

Is the pH of my tap water going to be good enough to mash with, without treating it?

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Yes... and no.
If it's good enough to drink, it's good enough to brew with.
Will it be the best beer you can brew? Probably not. To know for sure, you will have to send in a sample for testing, and then you can tweek your water as needed.
If you're new to all grain, I would put water adjustment pretty far down the list of things you need to do to brew great beer. Learn the basics, acquire the equipment, make some mistakes. Then study water,

Yes... and no.
If it's good enough to drink, it's good enough to brew with.
Will it be the best beer you can brew? Probably not. To know for sure, you will have to send in a sample for testing, and then you can tweek your water as needed.
If you're new to all grain, I would put water adjustment pretty far down the list of things you need to do to brew great beer. Learn the basics, acquire the equipment, make some mistakes. Then study water,

Sounds good! I wasn't sure how big of a priority it was.. Some people make it a huge deal, some people don't even think about pH. As long as I don't get any off flavors or astringency, I'm fine with it.