Water analysis results are in...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thebigtone

Reaction score
Well I have been brewing all grain BIAB batches for the last two years and they have turned out OK, but I feel like some of my brews are a little flat or duller than I would like, if that makes sense. I've been using city water, treated with half campden tab for the chlorine, but no other major adjustments. I just got a Ward Labs report - see below. It looks like my results are ok for a variety of styles but I think the pH and bicarbonate are too high.

So I was thinking of mixing with a few gallons of distilled water, maybe adding phosphoric acid or acidulated malt to cut the pH. Or am I totally off on this one?? Relatively new so looking for any thoughts or tips from people that have been there already and understand this better than I do. Thanks!

2022-01-04_12-55-04.jpg

Starting water pH has almost no effect on mash pH. It's the alkalinity of the starting water that matters, and yours is fairly high. You should definitely be adding acid or acidulated malt for lighter colored beers. You really should be using water adjustment software.

Brew on :mug:

Ca, Mg, Na, Cl are all ok, SO4 is low. The big issue is the bicarbonates which are high which will make it difficult to brew lighter styles without using acidulated malt or acids. Cutting your source water with a few gallons will help with the bicarbonate level but will lower your Ca, Cl, and SO4. More importantly, you will be flying blind and not really know what your water profile actually is and the mash PH you should expect.

You really should be using water adjustment software