Volume Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NevermoreBrew

Reaction score
So ive been brewing for about 9 months now. Made 6 batches so far but every single batch has fallen at least a half a gallon short of my 5 gallon target. Im still doing partial mash recipes so this problem might go away when I switch over to full mash. On my last recipe I even made it for 5.5 gallons and still only had 4.5. Is all of this just due to a poor mash efficiency? if so what can I do to increase my efficiency or is there something else I can do to reach my 5 gallon target.

Also, my dad makes wine and he said that when his volume is not enough to completely fill a carboy he adds a little bit of a similar wine to the mix to reduce the head space in the carboy. Is that as important in beer fermentation and will that technique work for beer too?

So ive been brewing for about 9 months now. Made 6 batches so far but every single batch has fallen at least a half a gallon short of my 5 gallon target. Im still doing partial mash recipes so this problem might go away when I switch over to full mash. On my last recipe I even made it for 5.5 gallons and still only had 4.5. Is all of this just due to a poor mash efficiency? if so what can I do to increase my efficiency or is there something else I can do to reach my 5 gallon target.

Also, my dad makes wine and he said that when his volume is not enough to completely fill a carboy he adds a little bit of a similar wine to the mix to reduce the head space in the carboy. Is that as important in beer fermentation and will that technique work for beer too?
Are you doing full boils? If so, you can start with a larger pre boil volume.