Very slow fermentation and questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fastenova

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

So I've been making mead with a buddy for several years with no formal research/knowledge and am finally doing some research and trying to improve our process and get better, more reliable results in a shorter time.

So far, our 5 gallon batches of mead with 10-12 lbs of honey take anywhere from 30-60 days to ferment down to the desired FG (depending on our target, .098-1.010). According to my friend, that was 'normal'. In reading online, it looks like that's super slow, and we should be seeing much faster drops in gravity, especially during the first half or two thirds of fermentation.

My current batch started out at 1.122 OG, with 15.75 lbs of honey - I'm shooting for a 14-15% alcohol content with this one. In the past 8 days it's gone from 1.122 down to 1.100. I have been degassing the mead some just by shaking/stirring and it seems to have improved the rate a little bit. But it still seems slow to me. This is with Lalvin 71B-1122 yeast.

First question is this: how quicklly should I see gravity drop? I know it depends on a ton of factors: original sugar content, yeast used, temperature, etc. But I'd like to know what's reasonable.

Second question: what can we do to improve our process to get faster fermentation? We warm our water to about 130 degrees, dissolve the honey, skim off solids that surface in the kettle, add a little acid via lemon juice, then cool down to approx 70 degrees. We rehydrate yeast (105 degree water, add DAP and yeast, let set for 20 min, add a little must, let set for 10 min, add equal amount of must, let set for 15 min, then pitch into carboy), seal it, and let it go.