Tweaking a lager recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmash

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a newb and have had success with stout, IPA and Porter. Now I have this fairly simple recipe for lager and I was wondering what the more experienced homebrewers would add or change to make it better.

https://beerbrew.com/downloads/Recipes/LoudmouthLager.pdf

I'm using 2 packets of Saflager 34/70 as opposed to the prescribed 1.
I have made a fermentation chamber out of a dorm fridge with a kegco external temp controller so I'll be able to ferment at 50 degrees.
I was going to extend the boiling time also.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Have your prior beers been extract? If so, I'd suggest dropping that Vienna because it needs to be mashed. You can sub 0.6 lbs of DME and get the same gravty.

And rather than use two oz of Hallertau at 60, you can get away with one oz of a higher AA% hop like Northern Brewer.

Other than that, you're in good shape. your pitch rate is good and your temp control is solid too.

Have your prior beers been extract? If so, I'd suggest dropping that Vienna because it needs to be mashed. You can sub 0.6 lbs of DME and get the same gravty.

And rather than use two oz of Hallertau at 60, you can get away with one oz of a higher AA% hop like Northern Brewer.

Other than that, you're in good shape. your pitch rate is good and your temp control is solid too.
Ok thanks. My other brews have all been partial like this one( Grains and extract). I had actually bought an extra bag of Pilsen Light DME to raise the gravity anyway.

Ok thanks. My other brews have all been partial like this one( Grains and extract). I had actually bought an extra bag of Pilsen Light DME to raise the gravity anyway.