Too Active Fermentation??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rkohman

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm fairly new to home brewing. I've done 8 5gallon batches and with 3 of them the krausen has bubbled over right out of the airlock... on the top of the bucket and onto the floor. Two of those batches were a Heifweizen and one was an EPA.

I really need to figure out how to stop that from happening.

Is there a natural way without using those drops?

Am I doing something wrong? I only fill the bucket to the 5gallon mark.

Any help you could provide would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Richard

Control fermentation temps and increase headspace.

Re: fermentation temps, chill wort to the bottom of the manufacturer'a recommended range and slowly let it warm through the range, ending fermentation near the high end.

Re: headspace, get a bigger bucket.

Also, you could use a blowoff tube so it isn't an issue and the mess is contained.

Freisste's suggestion about a blowoff tube is a good one. You can put a cut off racking cane through the grommet in the bucket lid, then a tube on the piece of racking cane, with the other end of the tube in a jar of water.

No problem, we are all here to help. Just keep in mind that a blowoff tube (while always a good idea) may be symptom management. If you are fermenting too hot your fermentations will be more vigorous which is more likely to result in a blowoff (and off flavors).

If you are fermenting at the "correct" temperature and still getting blowoffs, a blowoff tube (or just a bigger fermenter) are your best bet.