There's still hope, right?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MLBinID

Reaction score
Spent the day brewing what I think will be a really good IPA but at the end I screwed up.

I've been using Wyeast for the past several months. I used Safale-05 for this. No biggie. Usually I just mix it in some warm water and it's fine. Today for some reason I felt compelled to add it to some of the wort preboil. I sanitized the bowl and the funnel. I completely forgot to boil the wort before adding the yeast. I realized this as I was pouring the yeast into my carboy over the boiled wort.

So is there still hope for my beer? I haven't had a contaminated brew yet. I assume it's pretty obvious if it is? Will there definitely be growth or will I likely have to rely on taste. (I hope not because if I think it's contaminated it's going to taste bad to me regardless of whether it is or not.)

Spent the day brewing what I think will be a really good IPA but at the end I screwed up.

I've been using Wyeast for the past several months. I used Safale-05 for this. No biggie. Usually I just mix it in some warm water and it's fine. Today for some reason I felt compelled to add it to some of the wort preboil. I sanitized the bowl and the funnel. I completely forgot to boil the wort before adding the yeast. I realized this as I was pouring the yeast into my carboy over the boiled wort.

So is there still hope for my beer? I haven't had a contaminated brew yet. I assume it's pretty obvious if it is? Will there definitely be growth or will I likely have to rely on taste. (I hope not because if I think it's contaminated it's going to taste bad to me regardless of whether it is or not.)