Suggestion for a 1st Time Ale Kit?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midlifecrisis

Reaction score
My wife bought me two brew kits and equipment from the homebrewery.com but unfortunately both kits were lager kits. From reading here it seems that lagers might not be the best kit to start with due to the fermentation temperature issues (which over time hopefully I can figure out a place with steady 50-55C temps for the lager yeast).

I was hoping to get some suggestions on an extract kit for a first timer. I'm a molecular biologist/yeast geneticist so I have no problem with the technical sides of things (although it is clear that I have a lot to learn about the science of brewing). Any reason to stay away from IPAs for a first timer? If so can anyone recommend a good kit?

I have been looking at kits from midwest supplies and austin homebrew supplies...any other places I should checkout?

I know you guys get lots of questions this time of year from 1st timers, but I would appreciate any input I can get. Hopefully with time I can manage to give back.

Sincerely,

Midlife

Welcome, Midlife! Both places you mention would be fine for ingredient kits. I also like 7 Bridges Cooperative at www.breworganic.com because they sell organic ingredients.

No problem in brewing an IPA to start with - I wouldn't do a big imperial beer, or a double IPA, or a huge belgian to start with. Other than that, a good pale ale or even a porter are good starting beers. Something with a little more flavor, like a porter or IPA, can be good because they're not subtle and not prone to off-flavors.

If you order a kit, I'd opt for some good dry yeast - that way you don't have to worry about making a starter, like you do with liquid yeast.