stuck Mash tun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hmmmbeer

Reaction score
So I brewed a new wheat beer for a friends birthday (10 gallons at that) and my mash tun got stuck so I had to use my stiring stick to keep it flowing and my wort came out thick (cloudy to no other!), if I were to run it through my mash tun (after already pitching my yeast) and filtering it again with just my filter (no grains, they are in the yard for the first now) would it clean it up at all? I've been brewing for about 3 years now and this is the worst I've evern seen a beer turn out, looks almost like a oatmeal LOL :(
Thanks for any advice!

Throw in some rice hulls! They help with wheat malt, as wheat malt has no husk. Also, replacing some of the 2row (If you have any) with 6row helps, too. Lots of husk on 6row.

yeah, I had already thought of rice hulls with the grains (as my mash tun got stuck). should I throw some rice hulls in while I filter the now beer?

Eh, it's a wheat beer. Supposed to be cloudy. But yeah, I keep a giant bag of rice hulls in the garage. Anything with an adjunct like wheat, rye, oats, etc. get a few giant handfuls in the mash.

I think you will loose a lot of yeast if you filter now
And how would you even sanatize rice hulls?

The trub will compact in the bottom of the fermenter anyway

My mash stuck last weekend too. It happened once before as well. I need to remember to get rice hulls. In both instances I stirred the mash during the sparge to keep it moving. The wort in the kettle was very cloudy but the first beer turned out fine this one will to. As someone already mentioned it should all fall out in the trub anyway.