Streaked Pacman on plate: most colonies light brown

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RJS

Reaction score
no one with experience to clarify the color as a possible issue???

I'm a microbiologist by trade, but I don't plate yeast. Having said that, assuming you trust your starter culture (what you streaked on the plate), those colonies are yeast colonies. Contaminants would be obvious and not more numerous than what you streaked. Unless you licked the plate.

I would pick several that look 'normal' to you and grow up from there. After the first couple steps, check to make sure everything looks and smells normal.

b-boy that was my first thought, also the light i was using was in question. I was thinking also the break material in the agar/dme medium was causing off colors, but not really thinking thats the case.

Im positive that the pac yeast streaked clean, without contamination, but the light brown color made me think of maybe a respiratory or nutrient issue, in the cell itself, Petit mutant.

I also used more agar than normal, so that i didnt cut into the plate as i streaked, i hate doing that. I like using more agar than normal, the plate dries super fast and you can turn it upside down in two minutes.

Hard to tell any issues from color, I've seen varying shades of white to brown with different strains. As said above, contaminants will be easy to see, bacteria usually shiny and growing at a different rate than the yeast, mold will develop hyphae, etc. only way to tell is grow it up and taste.

Plates look great to me!

alrighty, i feel better about it, thanks everyone.