Stirring the wine during primary fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

teegasus

Reaction score
Hello

Which methods are you using to vigorously stir the wine during primary fermentation to bring enough oxygen into the wine?
I feel like stirring with the stirring spoon isn’t doing the job properly. Tips and ideas?

Also I am new to winemaking and just sat my first wine to ferment! Really excited!

Thanks!

I use one of these hooked up to a cordless drill:
https://www.amazon.com/E-C-Kraus-HO...ld=1&keywords=wine+whip&qid=1610137480&sr=8-6
1610137552314.png

I've been making wine for 20+ years and haven't ever stirred the wine after I pitched the yeast, the exception would be red wine where you have to "punch down" the grapes floating on top of the must twice a day. Sometimes I'll swirl the carboy a little if I think the yeast is slowing down, but I generally mess with it as little as possible. I get the oxygen into the grape juice by dumping it from a bucket into a carboy (using a funnel) and its gets enough oxygen for the yeast from this method. Ok, so my method is probably incorrect, but what I'm saying is that you don't have to stir the wine to have it come out good, all my wine gets consumed without any complaints.

Be aware that yeast only need oxygen in the very early growth phase. Aerate at pitch and at 24 hrs, that's it. I use a Bernzomatic oxygen tank and O2 stone.

Be aware that yeast only need oxygen in the very early growth phase. Aerate at pitch and at 24 hrs, that's it. I use a Bernzomatic oxygen tank and O2 stone.