StarSan solution okay to leave in plastic brew bucket for a while?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

otherchuck

Reaction score
Greetings,

I am kind of new to using StarSan solution (and for the record, I brew mead more than beer but that is not important to this question). I am in a position where I want to fill one of my plastic primary buckets halfway up with StarSan solution today to do some equipment cleaning to rack some mead from a primary bucket into a secondary carboy. But then I will be bottling another batch, and maybe brewing another batch, maybe three or four days from now. If I leave that StarSan solution in that food-grade primary primary fermentation bucket for...lets say...a week, does anything nasty seep into the plastic? Can I still use that bucket for brewing beer in the near future, or has it now become merely a cleaning bucket?

Thanks!

Otherchuck

fwiw, many of us keep 5 gallons or a bit more of Star San mix around for purging kegs, and in my case at least that bucket may sit filled for months at a time before I mix a fresh batch (I always use distilled or at least my RO system water).

That said, there is no doubt some plastics are susceptible to degradation from Star San - Delrin for one (from the epoxy mixing sticks used for flow moderation when dispensing from corny kegs with too short beer lines), and the inside surface of my Star San bucket does not feel the same as the outside after many years in that role...

Cheers