so many keg problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tante

Reaction score
I opened my freezer today and found about 4 inches of my IPA at the bottom. I think it was leaking from the post. I am starting to think kegging is more trouble than it is worth. I can't get my beers to carbonate well, they all seem to turn out flat and in the past 6 months since I started brewing I have lost 4 CO2 tanks to leaking. I am tired of wasting money and beer. I just feel like I have had every possible problem you can possibly have with a corny happen to me.

Anyone switch to sanky kegs? I am seriously thinking about getting rid of my cornys.

I actually have both, and have had a sanke leak more than corny... It does take some breaking in, but I can't imagine bottling every week. I do like the sanke, because they easily double as a fermenter, and a 15.5 holds more(obviously). As far as carbonating, go ahead and get a second regulator to attach to the first so you can independently control each keg(or at least two), and go ahead and set it at 25 for 4 days or so, and you will carbonate just fine...An even better method if you have time is to set it at 12-14, and go ahead and leave it under gas for two weeks.

btw...I'd be pissed if i lost a keg of beer to the bottom of the fridge.